Where I’m From

*I don’t want this blog to surround my specific theology or belief (even though it will influence), but I think it’s important to share a little about myself. I want to connect with all of you so having some understanding of the passions and beliefs of the creator of “Favor Ain’t Fair” is important.*

I was raised in the black church experience. I am well versed in the uniqueness of that experience such as “falling out”, “but on the third day….”, and very long altar calls. Note: if you finished that sentence, you’re so churchy 🙂. In college I had a few years where I was pretty involved in the apostolic/evangelical movement which was the catalyst for my very liberal faith.

I have a Masters of Divinity because I believed there was a “call” for me to do more than just sit in a pew. To be honest, I had no idea what that meant but I was pretty sure I would never pastor…not in the traditional sense. I was raised to be critical, analytical, and active toward everything that is around me. So my degree has helped me act upon my beliefs instead of beliefs being acted upon me.

I have participated in other religions and discovered there really is more than one path to God. How we relate to and understand God is dependent on our worldview; it is really that simple. As my favorite theologian, Howard Thurman said, meet people at the level of the ash tray. God is right where you are, speaking to you…in a method that is leisurely.

My reason for speaking from a specific black woman liberal theological voice is because that voice has yet to be created in the space to bridge a conversation. It is my intent to incorporate many more voices than that specifically from the African diaspora first and others if it so happens. This will not be journalistic in the sense that I distribute information and you absorb. I crave productive dialogue. My biggest pet peeve with us black folk is we tiptoe around a conversation by speaking from the surface of our feelings and never really take the time to understand and healthily construct our feelings. In order to have a productive conversation, we must be introspective of our own bias and worldview so that when we engage in discussion, we’re no longer fearful or hesitant to step into deep, difficult discussions. I find the most successful way to do that is push our limits just to the point it seems we might go over the cliff…but we won’t.

In summary I’m a hip hop aficionado, astute learner, practiced educator, zombie apocalypse readiness director, lover of all things lovely, and summer dress swag queen.

Where I’m from.

 

Leave a Reply

