Been A Long, Shouldn’t Have Left You…

It has been a while since I could sit down and write. Life took a quick turn and I had to catch up. I need a second writer…he or she is coming soon! Now that I am back, I wanted to talk about faith.

Faith is something I struggled with most of my life. I had faith the size of a mountain when everything in life went as I planned it, but when IT hit the fan, I would generally just flee in the opposite direction. My life growing up was never hard; I wanted for nothing and got everything I desired. Personally, there was nothing I could’ve done to change that, but I didn’t hit challenges until I got to college. I was ill-prepared to handle challenges. In fact, my interpretation of challenge was that if it was too hard, then I should just quit because God wouldn’t place anything in my life that I would have to work for. I know, it sounds just as ridiculous to me as well. My naivete was showing and I just ran in the other direction. Needless to say, the universe tried repeatedly to teach me what true faith is and I missed it more times than I care to admit. So let me start with the lessons I have figured out about faith.

1. Hebrews 11 is right

“Faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen.” I didn’t understand this scripture at all. I am a factual and visual person. The expectation is that I believe in something that doesn’t exist…yet. My mind couldn’t trust such things. I only believed in what I saw and my interpretation of what I saw. Well, that left me very unhappy and detached from most things. Faith really is about believing beyond what we see is possible. Well, cool, so how do know what to believe?

2. The answer lies within

A big thing that I had to learn was to trust my instincts and intuition. God lies within and is an active part in my life. However, we communicate with God, it is important that we realize God is communicating with us. Those “strange thoughts” you have or “knowing” feelings are God telling you something…trust it. I rationalize a lot and this part was difficult for me as well. It resulted in so much unnecessary strife and heartache. About 3 years of my life could’ve gone differently had I just listened to myself.

3. Fear, cynicism, and doubt cannot exist

I’m sure you are catching on to the pattern. I suffered from all three. Oh my goodness, my close friends will attest to my cynical nature. Fear would immediately follow and then doubt. By this time whatever I was putting my faith, these three had sufficiently talked me out of it. Life became stagnate. I was sad almost everyday and feeling quite hopeless. How did it change? God encountered my life.

God met me at a point where I really needed God to meet me. It was unexpected and life changing. Thinking about the experience makes me feel…amazing. There is no doubt in my mind that I must remain faithful. That requires me not to be scared or cynical. This used to be a difficult battle, but I was given the strength and ability to fight much better. I look forward to tomorrow. Wrap it up, B! Nothing will stop the promises of God.

Your message of hope for the day.

Leave a Reply

